Cavendish, Atkinson win at Sports Awards

Mark Cavendish and Charlotte Atkinson won the top prizes at the annual Isle of Man Sports Awards.

Cavendish was named Isle of Man Sportsman of the Year for 2016 after winning silver medals at the Olympics and Road Cycling World Championships, as well as picking up four stage wins in the Tour de France.

Atkinson won the Sportswoman of the Year prize following success in the British Swimming Championships at the 100m and 200m butterfly.

Moto GP rider Cal Crutchlow picked up the Isle of Man Ambassador Award, while cyclist Matthew Bostock and motorcycle trials rider Ella Doherty were named Under-21 Sportsman and Sportswoman respectively.

11 awards were handed out in total at the ceremony, where Britain's gold-medal winning hockey captain Kate Richardson-Walsh was the guest of honour.