On-Air Now


Mon, 18 Apr 2011

Bird after Manx win number 3
Bird after Manx win number 3

Paul Bird, winner of the Manx Telecom Rally in both 2009 and 2010, has entered this year’s event as he attempts to become the first driver to achieve a hat-trick of victories. Since the rally first ran back in 1980, the likes of Phil Collins, Kenny McKinstry and the late Bertie Fisher have won the rally three times (five in McKinstry’s case!), but not in consecutive years.


Former MSA Gravel Rally Champion Bird, from Langwathby in Cumbria, and co-driver Kirsty Riddick will once again be using the Frank Bird Poultry/DMack Tyres Ford Focus WRC that took them to their popular win last year.


The Manx Telecom Rally will be the first major tarmac event that ‘Birdy’ has entered in 2011 as he concentrates on the BTRDA Gravel Rally Series which has, so far, taken him to the Forest of Dean, his ‘home’ Malcolm Wilson Rally in the Lake District and Minehead for the Somerset Stages.      

Bookmark and Share