Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

DoI intervene after mass commissioner walk-out

Thu, 22 Jul 2010

The Department of Infrastructure is to help Port St Mary Commissioners after nearly half the members walked out last week.

Four of the nine commissioners resigned, with the Clerk and his assistant Clerk also due to leave at the end of August.

The Department is responsible for the Island's local authorities.

Representatives from the Department, including MHK Graham Cregeen, met with the five remaining Commissioners earlier this week to discuss replacing the four members who left.

The board has appointed Robbie Cooil as its new Chairman, and Rebecca Sinfield as Vice Chairman.

Advertisements for candidates for the election are due to be published this week.

Bookmark and Share