Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

MLC election concludes after seven rounds of voting

Mon, 18 Mar 2013

The Island has its new batch of MLCs for the next five years.

A special sitting of the House of Keys has taken place to elect four Members of the Legislative Council.

Michael Coleman has been voted in as has Tony Wild and Juan Turner who were standing for re-election.

Douglas West MHK Geoff Corkish has also been elected as an MLC – meaning there will be a by-election for his seat.

Earlier in proceedings the two Liberal Vannin hopefuls withdrew their candidacy.

The election was completed after seven rounds of voting, which saw Juan Turner defeat Nigel Malpass.

Bookmark and Share