Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Tynwald elects new President

Tue, 19 Jul 2016

Steve Rodan has been elected the new President of Tynwald.
The Garff MHK gained the majority of the votes this morning and has now taken his seat for today's sitting which is currently underway. 
Mr Rodan was nominated by Infrastructure Minister Phil Gawne and Mr Eddie Teare was put forward by the Chief Minister - the Treasury Minister lost out on the job by four votes with the final count at 16 for Rodan and 12 to Teare. 
Mr Rodan will now preside over Tynwald proceedings for the next five years - he's taken over from Clare Christian who stepped down today. 
Bookmark and Share