Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Election: Big Names Go; Half the Keys Changed

Fri, 23 Sep 2016

The Island is waking up to radically different House of Keys this morning with half of the Members elected for the first time.

Infrastructure Minister Phil Gawne was the highest profile casualty having failed to gain enough support in the new Constituency of Arbory, Castletown and Malew.

Other sitting MHK’s to lose their seats include David Quirk in Onchan, Leonard Singer in Ramsey, Jon Joughin in Douglas East and John Houghton in North Douglas.

There will be 5 women in the Keys with Liberal Vannin Leader, Kate Beecroft topping the pole in South Douglas, Councillor Ann Corlett was elected in Douglas Central and Clare Bettison topping the pole in Douglas East. They will be joined by Daphne Caine in Garff and another Liberal Vannin Member Julie Edge in Onchan.

Two Government Ministers were safely returned in Rushen with both Juan Watterson and Laurence Skelly being elected.

In Middle, Health Minister Howard Quayle, who had been tipped by exit polls to be out, held on to his seat, but Bill Shimmins topped the poll.

There was a comfortable win for Alf Cannan in the merged Ayre and Michael Constituency - and he will be joined by newcomer Tim Baker.

Ramsey sees two new Members with local GP Alex Allinson taking the largest poll of the night joined by Liberal Vannin's Lawrie Hooper.

Bookmark and Share