Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Three nominated for Chief Minister post

Tue, 27 Sep 2016

Three candidates will contest the election to be the Island's next Chief Minister.

Kate Beecroft of Douglas South, Ayre and Michael MHK Alf Cannan and Middle MHK Howard Quayle - all of whom are starting their second term in the House of Keys - have been nominated.

Mrs Beecroft was put forward by Liberal Vannin colleagues Lawrie Hooper and Julie Edge, who are both new faces in the Island's parliament.

Douglas Central's Chris Thomas and Martyn Perkins of Garff were the proposer and seconder for Mr Cannan, while David Ashford and Ray Harmer gave their support to Mr Quayle.

Rushen MHK Laurence Skelly had been linked with the role, but confirmed ahead of the nomination deadline that he would not be standing.

Juan Watterson was selected for the Speaker of the House of Keys position earlier.

The election of the Chief Minister will take place in Tynwald on Tuesday October 4th.

Bookmark and Share