Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Cyclists lead sports awards nominations

Thu, 09 Feb 2017

Cyclists dominate the shortlists for Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year at this year's Isle of Man Sports Awards.

Olympic silver medal winner Mark Cavendish and Team Sky rider Peter Kennaugh are up for the Sportsman award, alongside last year's winner, shooter Tim Kneale.

Golfer Tom Gandy, rally driver David Higgins and Enduro star Daniel McCanney are also in the running.

Cyclists Anna Christian, Elizabeth Holden and Charlotte Atkinson feature on the women's shortlist, alongside Isle of Man hockey captain Kim Carney, equestrian rider Yasmin Ingham and archer Lesley Sleight.

Manx-born Celtic and Scotland international footballer Kieran Tierney is among the nominees for the Under-21 Sportsman of the Year.

The winners will be announced on March 22nd.

Bookmark and Share



Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed