Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Motorcyclists, athletes dominate sports award nominations

Thu, 18 Jan 2018

Motorcycling and athletics dominate the nominations for the Sportsman and Woman of the Year prizes at this year's Isle of Man Sports Awards.

TT competitors Dan Kneen and Lee Cain are in the running for the Sportsman award, alongside three-time World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea, who recently finished second at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award.

Parish Walk winner Liam Parker and Joe Reid represent athletics, while Celtic defender Kieran Tierney, Enduro World Championship rider Jamie McCanney and European under-23 track cycling champion Matthew Bostock complete the shortlist.

British swimming champion Charlotte Atkinson will be looking to win the Sportswoman award for the second year in a row, but faces competition from athletes Erika Kelly and Hannah Riley, as well as cyclist Anna Christian, triathlete Hannah Howitt and gymnast Tara Donnelly.

Bostock, Tierney and Donnelly are also in contention for the Under 21 awards.

Bookmark and Share



Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed