On-Air Now
Listen Live

Candidates make ready for Lonan by-election

Wed, 06 Feb 2019

The polls will open tomorrow for Lonan voters to elect a new representative to sit on the board of Garff Commissioners.

Five hopefuls have thrown their names into hat, and the winning candidate will serve until 2020 when the local authority general elections take place.

The election comes after a turbulent time for the commissioners, with decisions over future sea defences in Laxey prompting criticism on social media.

There are two polling stations; one is at Baldrine Methodist Church, the other is at Laxey Working Men’s institute, where the result will be announced.

Polls open from 8am until 8pm, and current chairman of Garff Commissioners, Nigel Dobson, is the returning officer.

Clerical officer Chris Steele from Laxey, retired construction industry worker David Samuels from Lonan, and company director Andrew Cronin from Laxey will all stand.

Former chairman of Laxey Commissioners, Andrew Moore and project manager Matthew Lamberton from Laxey will join them for the contest.

By Local Democracy Reporter - Ewan Gawne


Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed