Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Three new commissioners elected in Malew by-election

Fri, 13 Sep 2019

The people of Malew have chosen three new members of the community to represent them as commissioners.

Nigel Bazely, Tim Chamberlain and Tanya Mackrell were all elected yesterday, after a day of voting which saw a turnout of 25 per cent.

Mr Bazley topped the poll with 321 votes.

Returning office Barry Powell, who’s also the authority’s clerk, announced the result at Ballasalla Village Hall last night.

The successful candidates will serve until the local authority general elections in 2020.

The result was as follows:
Nigel Bazley 321
Tanya Mackrell 318
Tim Chamberlain 272
Leo Cussons 131
Kevin Oliphant-Smith 79
Kurt Roosen 30*

*Mr Roosen said he wouldn’t being taking part in the election earlier this month, though this came after the period for withdrawals, so his name remained on the ballot paper.

Two ballot papers were spoilt.

Local Democracy Reporter Ewan Gawne asked the three victors how they felt upon learning the result, starting with Tanya Mackrell:


  • Malew Winners


Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed