On-Air Now

Isle of Man Sports Awards: Shortlist revealed ahead of ceremony

Thu, 16 Feb 2023

The shortlist for the Isle of Man Sports Awards has been revealed ahead of next month’s ceremony in Douglas.

The event, which celebrates every aspect of Manx sport from grass root heroes to elite athletes and teams, will be held at the Villa Marina on 30 March.

Twelve awards will be presented on the night, culminating with the crowning of the hotly contested sportsman and sportswoman of the year for 2022 .

The shortlist contains current and former World, European and British champions and includes 20 different sports.


Sportswoman of the Year

  • Ana Dawson            (Golf)
  • Becky Storrie            (Cycling)
  • Laura Kinley             (Swimming)
  • Lizzie Holden            (Cycling)
  • Sarah Astin              (Athletics)
  • Tara Donnelly           (Gymnastics)
  • Yasmin Ingham        (Equestrian)


Sportsman of the Year

  • Alex Bregazzi           (Swimming)
  • Bevan Rodd             (Rugby)
  • David Mullarkey        (Athletics)
  • Mark Cavendish        (Cycling)
  • Matthew Bostock      (Cycling)
  • Joe Harris                (Athletics)
  • Connor Cummins       (Motorsport)


Under 21 Sportsman of the Year

  • Harry Thompson       (Rugby)
  • Jorge Halliday           (Motorsport)
  • Zachary Walker        (Cycling)
  • Glen Quayle             (Athletics)
  • Peter Cope              (Sailing)


Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

  • Kaytlyn Adshead       (Trials)
  • Lucy Barnett            (Cricket)
  • Lola Bass                (Equestrian)
  • Sienna Dunn            (Hockey)
  • Sinead Cox              (Equestrian)
  • Leah Dawson           (Golf)


Disability Sportsperson of the Year

  • Chloe Chadwick        (Equestrian)
  • Darren Kennish         (Darts)
  • Sean Jackson           (Football)
  • Elizabeth Tinkler       (Special Olympics)
  • Liam McCarthy          (Special Olympics)


Sports Team of the Year

  • Isle of Man’s Men's National Team   (Cricket)
  • Isle of Man's 4x100 Relay Team      (Swimming)  
  • FC Isle of Man                              (Football)
  • Isle of Man’s Men's National Team  (Hockey)      
  • Manx Rams                                 (Netball)       


Sports Administrator of the Year

  • Blanaid Higgins         (Motorsport)
  • Debbie Shimmin        (Hockey)
  • Erica Bellhouse         (CGA, Gymnastics, Swimming)
  • Glynn Hargraves       (Crown Green Bowls)
  • Niamh Goddard        (Hockey)
  • Maggie Mulhern        (Table Tennis)
  • Roberta Cannell        (Badminton)


Isle of Man Sports Ambassador

  • Jed Etchells              (Motorsport)
  • Harry Payne             (Motorsport)
  • Yasmin Ingham         (Equestrian)
  • Tom Gandy              (Golf)
  • Sean Jackson           (Football)
  • Mark Cavendish        (Cycling)
  • Jamie McCanney        (Motorsport)


Sports Coach of the Year

  • Chris Bass               (Football)
  • Greig Wright            (Cricket)
  • Lee Holland              (Swimming)
  • Andrew Roche          (Cycling)
  • Valery Molchanov     (Gymnastics)
  • Pete Corkill              (Special Olympics Football)


Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

  • Chris Horton            (Judo)
  • Gianni  Epifani          (Cycling)
  • Richard Shipway       (Athletics)
  • Sarah Webster          (Athletics)
  • Lesley Sleight           (Archery)



Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed